skip navigation

2019 Coach of The Year Award Nominations are Open

Rich Yessian 2017 Region III Coach of the Year

Any USASA member can nominate an individual for coach of the year. Please download the nomination form for details on the nomination process. 

The Coach of the Year Award is to recognize a person in the Southern Region who has made substantial contributions to their players, teams, program or league over a minimum period of 5 years. The nominee should have characteristics of what a coach aspires their players to be. The coach of the year should promote sportsmanship, competition, and the soccer community in general.


Previous Winners

2017 - Rich Yessian (SC)

2019 Bob Evans Referee Lifetime Award Nominations are Open

One of the founders of the National Referee Program, Dr. Robert Evans was a prominent presence in US soccer refereeing for over 40 years. Originally from Great Britain, Bob arrived in North Texas in 1969. He was a goalkeeper with the Amateur State Championship team and also a referee in local leagues. He was appointed as a linesman in the North American Soccer League and subsequently decided to give up playing to concentrate on his referee career. He became a referee in the NASL and was later appointed to the FIFA list, the first referee in Region III to receive this honor. Bob was also very active as a referee instructor and gave countless clinics at various levels throughout Texas, Region III and the rest of the country. Following his retirement as a referee, Bob accepted the position of National Director of Instruction and served many years on the National Referees’ Committee. He later became the first FIFA Referee Instructor from the USA. He also found time to serve as an assessor at amateur and professional levels and wrote many articles on refereeing, plus a Manual for Linesmen, and a very successful comprehensive 300- page book on advice and education for referees. A member of the NTSSA Hall of Fame, he received the Eddie Pearson Award from US Soccer which recognizes outstanding achievement and contribution to the National Referee Program.

The Bob Evans Award is presented to an individual within Region III who reflects a similar dedication to refereeing. The awardee should have demonstrated high achievement and success as a referee, and also outstanding contributions to the refereeing program in the form of instruction, assessment and/or administration over a sustained period of at least 15 years.

Previous Winners

2017 - Dr. Don Wilber (SC)